1935 - 1945

A set of commemorative Philippine Commonwealth silver coins all dated 1936:
1 peso Quezon - Roosevelt and 1 peso Quezon - Murphy
topped by 50 centavos Quezon - Murphy.
The establishment of the Philippine Commonwealth on November 15, 1935, foreshadowed the grant of full independence from the United States on July 4, 1946. To commemorate this historic event, a set of three silver coins dated 1936 was issued. A 1 peso coin bore the busts of Presidents Franklin D. Roosevelt of the United States and Manuel L. Quezon of the Philippines.

Another 1 peso and 50-centavo coin bore the busts of Governor General Frank Murphy and President Quezon.

On the reverse of all three coins appeared the coat of arms of the Philippine Commonwealth which had by now finally replaced the American eagle and shield of stars and stripes.