Revolutionary copper coin of 2 centimos de peso dated 1899.
At 26 mm diameter, it is the smaller of two types of patterns / 
coins issued by President Emilio Aguinaldo. 
The larger version, also in copper and likewise dated 1899,
is approximately 30 mm in diameter and bears the triangle
of the Katipunan.
The revolution against Spain broke out in 1896 and by 1897 peace terms had been agreed upon between the new revolutionary government and the government of Spain in the islands. In 1898, the United States of America defeated Spain, putting and end to Spanish rule in the Philippines.

On June 12, 1898 General Emilio Aguinaldo proclaimed Philippine Independence in Kawit, Cavite and on January 20, 1899, the new Congress met at Malolos, Bulacan to approve the Malolos Constitution. During this short period the new Philippine government struck two versions of copper coin, both dated 1899, bearing the legend "REPUBLICA FILIPINA" and denominated 2 centimos de peso.