1861 - 1885

On the left is a set of silver coins of the Isabel II series in 50, 20 and 10 centimos 
de peso denomination all dated 1868. On the right is a similar set of the Alfonso XII 
series all dated 1885. All the above were minted by the Casa de Moneda de Manila. 
At center is the crown-size silver peso of Alfonso XIII dated 1897 which was 
minted in Madrid for Philippine circulation.
Spanish colonial. The Case de Moneda de Manila obtained permission to mint fractional silver coins on March 5, 1862. These coins in denominations of 10, 20 and 50 centimos de peso, saw production from 1864 to 1868 (Isabel II series) and from 1880 to 1885 (Alfonso XII series). In 1897, a silver peso coin was minted in Madrid and issued in an attempt to stabilize the currency situation in the Philippines. The coin contained 25 grams of 0.900 fine silver and bore the portrait of the young Alfonso XIII on one side and the legend "ISLAS FILIPINAS" on the other.